Government

Names:

conventional long form: State of Eritrea

conventional short form: Eritrea

local long form: none local short form: none

former: Eritrea Autonomous Region in Ethiopia

Digraph: ER

Type: transitional government

note: on 29 May 1991 ISAIAS Afworke, secretary general of the Peoples' Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ), which then served and still serves as the country's legislative body, announced the formation of the Provisional Government in Eritrea (PGE) in preparation for the 23-25 April 1993 referendum on independence for the autonomous region of Eritrea; the result was a landslide vote for independence which was proclaimed on 27 April 1993

Capital: Asmara (formerly Asmera)

Administrative divisions: 9 provinces; Akole Guzay, Baraka, Danakil,

Hamasen, Sahil, Samhar, Senhit, Seraye, Sahil

Independence: 27 May 1993 (from Ethiopia; formerly the Eritrea

Autonomous Region)

National holiday: National Day (independence from Ethiopia), 24 May

(1993)

Constitution: transitional "constitution" decreed 19 May 1993

Legal system: NA

Suffrage: NA

Executive branch:

chief of state and head of government: President ISAIAS Afworke

(since 22 May 1993)

cabinet: State Council; the collective executive authority

note: election to be held before 20 May 1997

Legislative branch: unicameral

National Assembly: PFDJ Central Committee serves as the country's legislative body until country-wide elections are held (before 20

May 1997)

Judicial branch: Judiciary

Political parties and leaders: People's Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ), ISAIAS Afworke, PETROS Solomon (the only party recognized

by the government)

Other political or pressure groups: Eritrean Islamic Jihad (EIJ); Islamic

Militant Group; Eritrean Liberation Front (ELF), ABDULLAH

Muhammed; Eritrean Liberation Front - United Organization (ELF-UO), Mohammed Said NAWUD; Eritrean Liberation Front - Revolutionary Council (ELF-RC), Ahmed NASSER

Member of: ACP, ECA, FAO, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IGADD, ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT (nonsignatory user), ITU, OAU, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UPU, WFTU

Diplomatic representation in US:

chief of mission: Ambassador AMDEMICHAEL Berhane Khasai chancery: Suite 400, 910 17th Street NW, Washington, DC 20006

telephone: [1] (202) 429-1991 *FAX*: [1] (202) 429-9004

US diplomatic representation:

chief of mission: Ambassador Robert G. HOUDEK

embassy: 34 Zera Yacob St., Asmara mailing address: P.O. Box 211, Asmara

telephone: [291] (1) 120004 FAX: [291] (1) 127584

Flag: red isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) dividing the flag into two right triangles; the upper triangle is green, the lower one is blue; a gold wreath encircling a gold olive branch is centered on the hoist side of the red triangle

Defense Forces

Branches: Eritrean People's Liberation Front (EPLF)

Defense expenditures: \$NA, NA% of GDP